News: Vikki Thorn (The Waifs) Debut Australian Solo Tour

the waifs

Vikki Thorn will tour Australia for the very first time in March this year, fronting her own Trio along with Heath Cullen and long term ‘The Waifs’ bassist Ben Franz.

After 25 years of singing and touring as one third of ‘The Waifs’, Vikki Thorn found her own voice deep in the canyons of Utah. Known for her powerful vocals and blues harp playing, she is a dynamic & passionate performer who has sung with Bob Dylan, Levon Helm, Paul Kelly, John Butler and Missy Higgins.

Now with her feet on stone and hands in the dirt, her new collection of songs portrays the humor and heartbreak of life just south of Hell’s Backbone. It’s from this harsh and beautiful landscape that she draws her inspiration. It’s a long way from the fishing camps of Western Australia where she was raised and she sings about them too.

Themes of movement, motherhood & motocross weave through country blues, slightly side stepping away from the folk format of The Waifs to indulge in her passion for old R&B. Her voice can swing and roll or radiate the intimate warmth of the morning’s first cuppa, inviting you to sit at the kitchen table while she sings about life in the wild places.

She caught up with ABC Radio this month, for an hour long interview covering influences, and the history of her musical career for My Sound Track – listen here.

Catch Vikki Thorn and her trio playing her first headline shows around Australia this March. Tickets for all shows will be on sale from Tuesday Jan 23rd.

Vikki Thorn (The Waifs)
Debut Australian Solo Tour
GENERAL ON SALE: 9AM TUE JAN 23 LOCAL TIME
via http://www.thewaifs.com

Wednesday 7 March The Courtyard Studio Canberra ACT

Thursday 8 March The Brass Monkey Cronulla NSW

Friday 9 March The Heritage Hotel Bulli NSW

Saturday 10 March Leadbelly Newtown NSW

Sunday 11 March Milton Theatre Milton NSW

Monday 12 March Art of Espresso Young NSW

Wednesday 14 March Theatre Royal Castlemaine VIC

Sunday 25 March Kalyenup Studio, Albany Entertainment Centre, Albany WA

Saturday 24 March Nannup Town Hall Nannup WA

Friday 23 March The River Hotel Margaret River WA

Thursday 22 March Clancy’s Dunsborough WA

Sunday 18 March Blue Mountains Folk Festival Katoomba NSW

Saturday 17 March Peninsula Picnic Mornington Peninsula VIC

Friday 16 March The Palais Adelaide Festival Adelaide Riverbank SA

Thursday 15 March The Northcote Social Club Northcote VIC

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: