27 Listicle Series: Ocean Alley

OA Secondary Promo Hi-Res copy

 

Hailing from sunny Sydney, Ocean Alley continue to solidify their place as one of Australia’s most exciting independent artists, announcing the release of their sophomore album ‘Chiaroscuro’.

We caught up with the gang to find out their Top Five Fave Songs to listen to whilst on tour. 

 

‘Eagle Rock’- Daddy Cool
This is our pump up song before we go on stage. We like the punchy rhythm and reckon it’s a pretty positive, feelin’ good song. The crowd always enjoy the sing along and we’re always having a dance too.

‘Boys Are Back In Town’ – Thin Lizzy
We like to play this when we are driving back home from shows, driving back into town. We put the windows down, have a good sing along – it’s not hard, nice straight up storytelling we think.

‘Tin Pan Alley’ – Stevie Ray Vaughn
This is an old favourite of ours, and a song we listened to together before we formed the band. It has intensely emotive blues guitar and can instantly transport you into Stevie’s world. This song inspired our band name and continues to inspire our music making.

‘Elephant Walk’ – Henry Mancini
This is the classic wake up song. So annoying you can’t ignore it and fall back asleep. It’s a great earworm that u can’t get out of your head for an hour or so.

‘I Shot The Sheriff’ – Bob Marley
We used to cover this song nearly every show we played when we were playing a lot in Sydney city and at pubs near home or up the coast. It’s got catchy lyrics and is a great song for lots of guitar. One of the greatest songs of all time.

 

Chiaroscuro is out now independently via UNIFIED Music Group, available to purchase here.

Ocean Alley are currently touring nationally, tickets for remaining shows are on sale now via oceanalley.com.au

Saturday 14 April – The Tivoli, Brisbane SOLD OUT
Sunday 15 April – The Tivoli, Brisbane 2ND SHOW ADDED
Wednesday 18 April – The Enmore, Sydney 2ND SHOW ADDED
Saturday 21 April – The Enmore, Sydney SOLD OUT
Friday 27 April – Groovin The Moo, Wayville
Saturday 28 April – Groovin The Moo, Maitland SOLD OUT
Sunday 29 April – Groovin The Moo, Canberra
Saturday 5 May – Groovin The Moo, Bendigo SOLD OUT
Sunday 6 May – Groovin The Moo, Townsville
Friday 11 May – Metropolis, Fremantle
Saturday 12 May – Groovin The Moo, Bunbury
Friday 18 May – The Forum, Melbourne 2ND SHOW ADDED
Saturday 19 May – The Forum, Melbourne SOLD OUT

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.