EMPYRE Release AI Generated Video For New Single ‘Waking Light’New Album ‘Relentless’ set for March 31 via Kscope
After unveiling, ‘Relentless’, ‘Parasites’ and the Classic Rock ‘Tracks of The Week’ runaway winner that was ‘Hit & Run’Empyre continue their trajectory into the stratosphere with a brand new single ‘Waking Light’.

Known for their DIY ethics, Empyre have long been creating their own artwork and videos but when it came to their new single ‘Waking Light’, Empyre have gone one step further as they decided to create both the video and single cover entirely from scratch. Well not quite entirely…

A highly debated topic in the world at large there are arguments for and against the use of AI, particularly in the field of the arts. Whereas some believe that AI threatens creativity with programmable sequencing already reaching the ability to craft entire songs and map out artwork, Empyre instead wanted to show that we should embrace this advancement of technology. The video aims to open the conversation as to where do we stand with the use of AI.

The band comment “Why go through the pain of dealing with a slow and expensive human artist when I can get mind-blowing, free results in 30 seconds from an algorithm? That being said, there are some things that machine’s simply can’t do but if the option is there, then why shouldn’t we take it?!”

Specifically with ‘Waking Light’ the band wanted to see just how both artist and technology can coexist to create something truly unique. The artwork for the video was created using AI technologies such as Midjourney and Open AI’s Dall-E to make over 1000 individual AI generated images manipulated by the band into several infinite zoom sequences. A perfect combination of man and machine working together.

Watch the video for Waking Light herehttps://youtu.be/2_FiL67VaIg

You can also see lead singer Henrik elaborate a little more on the process of how they put another, also AI generated cover for ‘Parasites’, whilst giving more context around the new single.

The conversation has begun, but where do you stand?

**********Since their debut album Self Aware in 2019, Empyre have won Classic Rock Magazine’s “Track Of The Week” on three separate occasions alongside a ‘High Hopes’ feature, while Kerrang! described their sound as “slick, vast and like the music was written with the help of an architectural blueprint for an arena”. Planet Rock heralded the band as ‘Ones to Watch’, playlisting the tracks ‘New Republic’ and ‘My Bad’ and on the strength of the 2020 Winter’s End performance immediately booked them for the Planet Rockstock 2021 main stage.

Aside from their high aspirations and determination Empyre are also known for a darkly self-deprecating sense of humour and have proved they have what it takes to stand out from the crowd by delivering an engaging, if unsettling mix of melancholy, hope, and hopelessness, often within the same song.Track listing:1. Relentless [03:57]2. Waking Light [04:36]3. Parasites [05:18]4. Cry Wolf [05:28]5. Hit And Run [04:00]6. Forget Me [05:48]7. Silence Screaming [05:01]8. Road To Nowhere [04:34]9. Quiet Commotion [06:10]10. Your Whole Life Slows [03:18]

Relentless will be released on the following formats;Limited edition digipack CD version with an alternative cover, featuring 4 bonus tracksLimited edition red coloured vinyl LP CD LP Digitallywith additional bundles and items available exclusively through the Eyesore Merch band store

All pre-orders via the Eyesore Merch band store will receive a hand-signed photo and an exclusive free download of Empyre’s unreleased cover of the David Guetta & Sia track Titanium.https://empyre.lnk.to/Relentless 

What the press have said about Empyre:

Empyre have become masters at taking the formula for British atmospheric rock and infusing it with their arena-ready signature sound” – Guitar World

Atmospheric but punchy modern rock” – Classic Rock

“Slick, vast and like the music was written with the help of an architectural blueprint for an arena” – Kerrang

Alongside the release of their upcoming album the band’s music has also been featured on the soundtrack for new British film, ‘A Touch of Vengeance’ which is out now and available on Amazon Prime.

Empyre are:Henrik Steenholdt: Vocals and guitarDid Coles: Lead guitarGrant Hockley: BassElliot Bale: DrumsFollow Empyre:Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Spotify

You may also like