Bluesfest today announced the cancellation of paid parking at the 2019 festival, advising that paid parking will now be introduced for the 2020 festival.

All 2019 ticketholders will be refunded by 12 April 2019. Bluesfest apologised for any confusion caused and inconvenience it may have caused ticket purchasers.

Although Bluesfest had full approval from Byron Shire Council, the NSW Police and the Roads & Maritime Services to include paid parking in the 2019 festival, Bluesfest has today decided to implement the introduction of this initiative when tickets go on sale for the 2020 festival.

Paid parking is being introduced due to increased costs in multiple areas of the live music business including artist fees, production, logistics, grounds maintenance and security. As the last major live music event within the region to introduce a parking fee, Bluesfest understands that it imposes a further cost for patrons, however as a business, the company needs to ensure the future of the festival.

Bluesfest encourages patrons travelling to the festival to consider the environment when making the trip to Byron Bay, and to car pool or use public transport where possible. Bluesfest is also asking patrons to bring re-usable water bottles to the site to eliminate plastic usage at the festival.


The Bluesfest 2019 line-up so far:


Jack Johnson – Iggy Pop – Ben Harper & the Innocent Criminals – Paul Kelly

The Saboteurs (Jack White, Brendan Benson, Patrick Keeler, Jack Lawrence)

Tash Sultana – Hozier – David Gray – Ray La Montagne

Norah Jones – Julia Stone- Kasey Chambers

Little Steven and the Disciples of Soul

George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic – Mavis Staples

Gary Clark Jr. – Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats

Imelda May – Tommy Emmanuel – Snarky Puppy 

Meshell Ndegeocello – Colin Hay

Kurt Vile and the Violators – Ocean Alley – Keb’ Mo’ – SIX60

Allen Stone – St. Paul and The Broken Bones 

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real

Baker Boy – Melbourne Ska Orchestra – Archie Roach

Playing for Change – Shakey Graves – Arlo Guthrie

Nahko and Medicine for the People – Tex Perkins

I’m With Her – Ruthie Foster – Richard Clapton

Russell Morris – Flogging Molly – Backsliders

The Marcus King Band – Fantastic Negrito – Samantha Fish

The War and Treaty – Deva Mahal – Larkin Poe

The Black Sorrows – Vintage Trouble – Pierce Brothers

Mojo Juju – Trevor Hall – Irish Mythen – Anderson East

Melody Angel – Clarence Bekker Band – Ward Thomas

Hussy Hicks – Thando – The California Honeydrops

Elephant Sessions – Caiti Baker – Little Georgia

Miss Velvet and the Blue Wolf – Mama Mihirangi & the Mareikura

Mission Songs Project – Benny Walker – Dallas Woods – Lucy Gallant

Amaru Tribe – Dobby – Brotherhood of the Blues

Tenzin Choegyal – Sametime – Nocturnal Syndrome

Local area high school showcase

The Bluesfest Busking Competition Winners

RockWiz Live


Full Boomerang Festival (First Nations Festival within Bluesfest) 2019 line-up:

Baker Boy

Archie Roach

Yothu Yindi & The Treaty Project

Mojo Juju – Benny Walker

Dallas Woods – DOBBY

Mission Songs

Brotherhood Of The Blues

Malu Kiai Mura Buai

Rako – Tenzin Choegyal


Te Kopere Maori Healers

Jugun Dandi Weavers

Saltwater Dubay


The 2019 playing schedule is available on


You may also like